The Girl Geek











{September 15, 2007}   I hate antihistamines.

I have “allergies” and also chronic sinus infections. My doctor assumes B is caused by A, but that’s besides the point. The point is I always get them, and no matter how many antibiotics my doctors prescribes, it goes away on its own. Now, the past couple of days, I have been starting to get a sore throat due to sinus drainage. This is almost expected when the seasons change. This morning I woke up at 8, and because I have a festival to go to at noon, I decided to self-medicate. The usual Claritin, Chloroseptic lozenges, and Sinus medicine. Well, I didn’t pay attention to the box of the last one. I was only worried about it containing Psuedoephedrine HCl, as the other new stuff doesn’t work at all. So, I took whatever I found, and didn’t think about it.

Until about 20 minutes later, I became insanely tired. In fact, I haven’t got out of the bed once since about 8:30. It’s 10:30, for all who care. I re-read the medicines I took, worried that they had some drug interaction or something, and then I noticed it: Antihistamine. I dosed myself up with Sinus & Allergy medicine. So, now, I am on an antihistamine high. Which has completely shut down my ability to function. I am lucky that I can even type this or make it seem concise. My head is almost completely disconnected from my body. The good things are that I can breathe through my nose, my ear doesn’t feel so stuffy, and my throat stopped hurting. Except I am as high as a kite and look like I drunk a twelve pack in an hour.

And I’m supposed to drive a good fifteen minutes to help paint faces on children. An F-bomb would be appropriate here. Luckily, I’m volunteering, but I’m afraid to call because I don’t know how effed up I sound right now. It’s not as if I am the only volunteer for it today, but I still feel bad. Maybe I’ll make it up tomorrow, but right now, all I can think about is sleep.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
