The Girl Geek











{September 5, 2007}   Product Review #1: A few items from Thinkgeek.com

Today, I’ve decided to do some product reviews of some goodies that I have bought in the past from Thinkgeek.com: Jolt Gum, Giant Plush Microbes, Microbe liquid soap dispenser, and the dual-colored LED Faucet Light.

Jolt Gum: First of all, I technically didn’t buy this at ThinkGeek. My dad bought them for my brother a while ago, and I just got around to trying it. First of all, these things are nasty. They taste bad from the beginning, and last about an hour after you’ve already spit it out. I wouldn’t know if they really gave me any type of caffeine boost, only because I chewed it for about two minutes, tops. I really don’t know if this is any better than a cup of coffee followed by a piece of Trident, but I sure know that Trident tastes better.
zerotetris.png

Giant Plush Microbes: These are a Microbiology major’s best friend. My mom originally bought my brother and I each one of these cute things for Christmas a few years ago. First of all, I got the bookworm. My brother was given the Flesh Eating Bacteria one (a.k.a. Streptococcus pyogenes!). When my cousin had her baby shower for her little girl, I bought her the Common Cold (pictured at right) and the Kissing Disease. Her older sister got Porphorymonas gingivalis (a.k.a. Halitosis) a little while later. So, now, I also have E. Coli, the Black Plague, the Flu, Ebola, and H.I.V. Each microbe looks exactly like they do on a blown up microscope slide. The colors are based mostly on the stain colors used. I must say, however, that these are cute enough to put on your bed, but freaky enough that people are compelled to read the attached tags and learn about these microbes. They’re very hardy, as I have had mine sitting in the back window of my car for a year. The microbes haven’t faded one bit. None have broken or had loose stitching.
fivetetris.png

Microbe Liquid Soap Dispenser: This is how we clean the microbes we find above off of our hands. It is the coolest soap dispenser I have ever seen. Even if I didn’t know what it was, the microbe is so stylized and heavy duty that I’d be compelled to buy it. It’s made out of the same material as a rubber duckie, and is as bright as one, too. The only style out now is the Common Cold (looks like a plastic version of the picture above), and even though it is bright blue, it can fit into any sink decor. My dad even liked it, and has asked me to buy another one just for him. This is perfect for anyone going into a medical field, and it can help teach the little ones why they need to wash their hands. Kiddies, even though Mr. Common Cold is cute, his buddies Escherichia Coli and Salmonella typhimurium aren’t so cute when they ravish your insides.
fivetetris.png

LED Faucet Light:faucet_light_3.jpg Well, if you are going to wash your hands thoroughly in the dark, you’ll need a special type of light. That’s where the LED Faucet light comes in. As soon as the water turns on, the LED lights up and helps guide your hands or dishes to cleanliness. The cheaper version only has a blue LED that turns on, but the other version has a blue LED until 87 degrees Fahrenheit, at which time the red LED light turns on, warning you that the water is hot. This is a nifty product that makes water look cooler than it really is (or hotter, depending on the color). The only difficulty with this is sometimes when you hit the faucet while it’s off, it’ll blink on. Also, it sometimes takes the lights a few seconds to realize the water is going through. However, to make up for that, in the box are extra batteries for the lights (which are small and relatively inexpensive). Never was washing so… illuminating.
fourtetris.png

Leave a Reply

et cetera
