The Girl Geek











{August 30, 2007}   Top 10 Wii Games Coming Soon… Wiitastic!

I love the Nintendo Wii. I will admit that I’m being sort of a fan-girl here, but, I just love the system. However, I really hate the lack of good games right now. There are only so many times your boyfriend can beat you at Wii Bowling before you want to kick the system across the room. Now, that being said, I have compiled a list of the top 10 Wii games that I am looking forward to.

10. Wii Music: Nintendo is one of the only companies that really knows how to make a first-party game. That, or other companies haven’t put their full trust into the Wii format. This game looks geeky fun. A perfect one for all the conductors in marching band. Since the game isn’t close to production here, hopefully they’ll add on a whole bunch of extra games, like Guitar Hero for the Wii, or something like what Miracle Piano used to be.

9. NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams: Now, I never played the original on Sega Saturn. My parents never let me have a Saturn. Said I had too many gaming systems (we know that can never be true). However, I have to say that with being a Nintendo fan-girl, I used to be a Sega fan-girl. Once Dreamcast died, I still supported the games Sega made. Sonic being the exception, of course. This game just seems full of promise. The lead character looks like a mix between a harlequin and Rayman. If this game can help bring back Sega to days of glory, I’d be so happy. Therefore, I’m putting my trust into this game.

8. Wii Fit: Yes, I know, another Wii-branded game. Okay, so this game sounds absolutely ridiculous. You stand on a balance board and do exercises. Maybe some push ups, maybe some yoga. But to me, it’s just some awesome music away from being the next Dance Dance Revolution. Plus, how many American kids know how to do yoga? I’m all for anything that makes you get up and do something different, instead of sitting on your butt trying to save the princess all day. This is also just like Brain Age, which I was madly addicted to.

7. The Legend of Spyro: The Eternal Night: I truly added this one to the list because it’s coming out on the PS2, DS and Wii, and my PS2 doesn’t like reading discs anymore. Either way, who doesn’t like the action/platformer Spyro? I used to play the first Spyro games every day for hours on end, never quite finding all the gems. I used to beg my cousin to help me. She’s 30 now, if that gives you any clue. Hell, my mom used to play this game, and the only games she really likes are Super Mario Bros. 3, Urban Strike and Qbert. I am quite curious as how they’re going to pull the game off with the Wiimote.

6. Chocobo’s Mysterious Dungeon: Toki Wasure No Meikyuu: As much as I am a Nintendo/Sega fan-girl, I also love everything Squaresoft (a.k.a. Square, a.k.a. Squareenix), and Chocobos are the most Square you can get. Instead of just being a summon/enemy/form of transportation, you get to be one of the yellow birds that say “kweh” a lot. I haven’t been able to play the other Chocobo’s Dungeon games, so I don’t know how this one will be compared to the old, or if the RPG elements added into this game are just part of the series, however, I am excited. It doesn’t have a concrete Japan release date, however, it has been shown that there will be job elements included into the game, like some of the Final Fantasy games I adore. The trailers for it (in Japanese) show a Chrono Trigger-esque style of fighting where you see your opponents before you battle, and you engage them in battle right on the current screen, instead of jumping into a specialized battlefield. I like it.

5. Dance Dance Revolution: The Hottest Party: Seriously, what is up with most of these titles having special subtitles for them. They should just call this game Wii DDR. Well, why exactly do I want this game? Because I have been addicted to DDR since Konamix came out. Sad, but true, I love getting up there with my white girl dance moves, and being able to beat people who can shake their asses ten times better than I ever will. It’s all about the beats, people. The whole game subsists on the fact that there is a beat, and everything revolves around that beat (though sometimes the 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, and 1/16 steps go with the melody), which makes every semi-decent choir kid good at this game. Why do I want this game? Because I like kicking ass to music.

4. Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: Crystal Bearers: I am not going to even start with how ironic this name is. FFCC:CB will be an awesome game, being a mix between the old FFCC and the old FF games in general. Instead of having co-op elements like the first FFCC, this one will be about you, yourself, and you playing the game for 40+ hours. Which, to me, is the perfect RPG. Don’t get me wrong, I love MMORPGs like the next guy, however, there is nothing better than to be able to play a game without worrying about other humans, but instead worrying about how good the AI engine on the game is. FFCC:CB should have controls like Zelda did earlier in the Wii’s life. Which should be effing sweet.

3. “Mario Kart Wii”: This game is so early into production that it still has a working title. Another Wii-branded, first party game, but it’s the sequel to a game so many kids who had N64 hold near and dear to their hearts. Mario Kart is the game that my boyfriend and I play on the Virtual Console when it’s raining outside. We play Mario Kart before we even think about kissing each other. He always beats me on the races, and I always kick ass at the pop-his-balloon level. Since it’s so new, there’s not much info on it, besides the line “online competition”. Which, I doubt is going to happen unless Nintendo revamps the Wii system. Mine is connected to our cable through wireless (the PS2 stole the hard wire), so it takes forever for the Forecast and Wii Shop Channels to load. Imagine that lag with a racing game. Oh, boy. But, it doesn’t make me want to push this down the list at all.

2. Super Smash Bros. Brawl: When they announced this game for the Wii, I almost crapped my pants. The Smash Bros. Dojo website has become a site I check once every two weeks for updates. This game can be played with the Wiimote on its side (which isn’t ergonomically helpful), the Classic controller, the Gamecube controller, or with a Wiimote/Nunchuk combo. The cool thing is that this game will be like the Smash Bros. with a Mortal Kombat-type twist. There will be the fatality-esque “Final Smash,” and also a single player storyline à la MK Arcade. Oh, and Solid Snake is a playable character in it, need I say more?

1. Super Mario Galaxy: With all the great Wii games coming out within the next year, there is one that stands above the rest. SMG is one of the first games showcased for the Wii, thanks to IGN’s Matt Casamassina. It was the reason why I begged my mom to buy the Wii for the family. Sadly, it’ll be released almost a year to the day that I got my Wii system. Anyways, the whole premise of this game is that it’s more Mario 64 than Mario Sunshine. Mario runs around these little mini planet/asteroid type levels where he collects coins and stars. Just like Mario always did. The best part is the control system. You use the Wiimote to stop bad guys from coming after you (like Bullet Bill), you also can shake the Wiimote at the screen to open up trapped stars, and the old jumps are back. Also, a new suit is available: the Bee-suit, which even though it’s no Tanooki, it may prove to be a great addition to the family of suit and cap power ups that make Mario who he is. It’s coming out in approx. 10 weeks and 4 days, and I just can’t wait!

[…] you see your opponents before you battle, and you engage them in battle right o… source: Top 10 Wii Games Coming Soon Wiitastic!, The Girl […]



Leave a Reply

et cetera
